Post forthcoming

Jen will soon start blogging about movies.  Until then, here are the vitals:

Favorite narrative fiction films of the past three years:

Little Miss Sunshine

Sweet Land

Paris, Je T’aime

What’s in my Netflix cue:

Satyam, Shivam, Sudaram (Love Sublime)

The Untouchables

God Grew Tired of Us



About jenletherer

BA, Theater and Speech Communication; English:Creative Writing. Siena Heights University, 2002. MFA, Film Production. Boston University, 2005
This entry was posted in Lists and Netflix Queue Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Post forthcoming

  1. Breinne Reeder says:

    The Untouchables is one of my new favorite movies. I was intrigued when I saw the screen version was written by David Mamet, and it didn’t disappoint.

    • jenletherer says:

      I agree! Mamet’s touch on the dialog was evident, and well done. I had heard/read about the staircase sequence, and loved it.
      The most of -putting aspect is the gratuitous violence, which does what it was intended to do: shock and horrify. Yet, I’m not convinced that justifies it. Sean Connery crawling across the floor on his bleeding chest still haunts me, days later. The cinematography is what I appreciated the most. Shots of Connery and Costner in the church, with one in extreme close-up on one side of the screen and the other in a wider close-up on the other side. Beautiful.

  2. Breinne Reeder says:

    Yeah the baby carriage scene was completely crazy. Even after watching it twice I still was worried about the baby! That’s when you know it’s a good movie. The violence was a little over the top, but I guess since it was depicting the life of Al Capone it was a little expected, not justified as you said, but expected.

Leave a Reply

